Return to Headlines

School Board members earn VSBA recognition

The Virginia School Boards Association's Academy Awards program recognizes school board members for their dedication to improving boardmanship skills by participating in VSBA meetings and trainings and for their active involvement in the association. Petersburg School Board members earned these awards this year:

  • Atiba H. Muse and Dr. Wayne D. Scott earned the Award of Recognition (15 credits in a year).
  • Adrian T. Dance Sr. earned the Award of Honor (66 credits in two years).
  • School Board Chair Kenneth L. Pritchett, School Board Vice Chair Steven L. Pierce Sr., Lois A. Long, Bernard J. Lundy Jr. and Superintendent Dr. Marcus J. Newsome earned the Award of Distinction (84 credits in two years).