Seven members of the School Board
  • First row (l-r): Chairman Kenneth Pritchett, Atiba Muse, Lois Long, and Dr. Wayne Scott
    Second row (l-r): Bernard Lundy, Vice Chairman Steven Pierce, and Adrian Dance


  • Attention Ward 4 Citizens:


    As many of you may have heard, Dr. Wayne Scott School Board member for Ward 4 submitted his resignation from the School Board effective Monday, March 23, 2020.  Pursuant to section 24.2-288 of the Code of Virginia, the remaining members of the School Board may appoint a qualified voter from Ward 4 to fill the vacancy created by Dr. Scott’s resignation. 


    While the School Board has not yet met to determine a process for filling this vacancy, it is my intent to recommend to the School Board that we solicit letters of interest from qualified voters from Ward 4 who wish to be considered for appointment.  More information about the process for filling the vacancy will be made available after the School Board’s virtual meeting on Wednesday, April 1, 2020, at 6:30 p.m.




    Kenneth L. Pritchett, Chairman

    Petersburg City School Board

Petersburg School Board

  • The seven members of the Petersburg School Board are elected to four-year terms. The School Board is charged with setting policies that assure the proper administration of Petersburg City Public Schools. The board also approves the hiring of staff to administer and carry out the policies and approves the budget necessary to implement the educational programs. 

    The School Board generally meets at 6 p.m. on the first and third Wednesdays of each month in the boardroom of the school system's Administrative Offices at 255 South Boulevard East. On meeting dates, the board usually meets in closed executive session at 5 p.m. All meetings are open to the public, except executive sessions held to discuss topics specified in the Virginia Freedom of Information Act.

    For more information, call 804-862-7169.


Quick Links